~*Golden Childhood*~

November 4, 2010

              Donald Zolan grew up in Brookfeild, Illinois with a family full of very talented artists and so he began painting at age three. At the age of five he was already winning art competitions and won his first major art competition at age thirteen. This award was a scholarship to the prestigious Art Institute of Chicago where he developed many skills. Not even three years he was granted a scholarship to Chicago’s American Academy of Art. After much exploration of his possibility he decided to open his own gallery in Nantucket. He has become known as America’s Premier Childrens Artist; he has won twenty two awards for his amazing abilities. In his own words Zolan epresses his love of children,”I love children, the way their eyes light up with excitement as they awaken to the world around them. Its a marvelous time of life,  filled with wonderment. A time when each new discovery is another magical moment.” Because he lived such a wonderful childhood he is able to reflect the emotions he felt as a young child venturing his journey through the world.

An Enchanting Flame

This painting reminds me of a truly golden childhood memory. The emotion on the little girl's face is so captivating and draws you to the flame. Donald Zolan has captured the child's facial expression perfectly; we begin to see into her mind. She is fascinated, curious, perplexed, and transfixed with the miraculous thing happening before her. Like a hot air balloon which requires hot air to function, these candlesticks are making the figures spin in a circular motion. In this painting the fixed point is the fire, the first thing that I saw when looking at this painting was the girl but then her gaze directed me towards the flame. With the painting i can imagine she has been staring at the flame for a while. This was an attractive painting to me because it reminds me of my childhood which seem to be my 'happier days' and it brings a smile to my face with the memories flooding in. The colors are very warm and draw alot of attention to the flame, there is one direct swift movement towards this enchanting flame because of all the color surrounding it. Zolan is a brilliant artist because he is so detailed with every little brushstroke and he puts invention into the picture adding story to it. I like this painting particularly because I understand what the girl is thinking because I was there once; it relates to me.

An Enchanting Flame

This painting reminds me of a truly golden childhood memory. The emotion on the little girl’s face is so captivating and draws you to the flame. Donald Zolan has captured the child’s facial expression perfectly; we begin to see into her mind. She is fascinated, curious, perplexed, and transfixed with the miraculous thing happening before her. Like a hot air balloon which requires hot air to function, these candlesticks are making the figures spin in a circular motion. In this painting the fixed point is the fire, the first thing that I saw when looking at this painting was the girl but then her gaze directed me towards the flame. With the painting i can imagine she has been staring at the flame for a while. This was an attractive painting to me because it reminds me of my childhood which seem to be my ‘happier days’ and it brings a smile to my face with the memories flooding in. The colors are very warm and draw alot of attention to the flame, there is one direct swift movement towards this enchanting flame because of all the color surrounding it. Zolan is a brilliant artist because he is so detailed with every little brushstroke and he puts invention into the picture adding story to it. I like this painting particularly because I understand what the girl is thinking because I was there once; it relates to me.

Smelling A flower

Another thing that he incorporates into his work is his use of paintings. He selects colors that flow very well together that add an energetic bouncy feeling to the painting. The painting has a delicateness about it because it shows the child's wonderful innocence.

Smelling A Flower

Another thing that he incorporates into his work is his use of color. He selects colors that flow very well together that add an energetic bouncy feeling to the painting. The painting has a  delicateness about it because it shows the child’s wonderful innocence.

by Ellen Timpson

Leave a Reply

